Welcome: Guest

Call for Papers: Cross-Cultural Pragmatics at a Crossroads III

Impact: Making a Difference in Intercultural Communication

Third Cross-cultural Pragmatics Conference at the University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK

Wednesday 26 – Friday 28 June 2013

https://www.uea.ac.uk/ccp3

SUBMISSION DEADLINE FOR ALL OTHER ABSTRACTS 15 NOVEMBER 2012

http://linguistlist.org/confcustom/ccpIII2013


INVITED SPEAKERS

Plenary 1 Istvan Kecskes (University at Albany, USA)

Plenary 2 Mona Baker (University of Manchester, UK)

Plenary 3 Lynda Yates (Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia) (TBC)

Plenary 4 Minako O’Hagan (Dublin City University, Ireland)

Plenary 5 Ana Rojo (Universidad de Murcia, Spain)

Plenary 6 Christine Béal and Véronique Traverso ( (Université Paul Valéry, Montptellier and Lyon 2, France)


Outreach Event Special Guest contributor: Makiko Mizuno (Kinjo Gakuin University, Nagoya) (public and community interpreting)


CALL FOR PAPERS (go to website for full details)

The conference builds on the success of two prior Cross-cultural Pragmatics at a Crossroads conferences at the UEA - Speech Frames and Cultural Perceptions in 2006, and its larger-scale follow-up Linguistic and Cultural Representations across Media in 2011 -, this time with an even more ambitious agenda.

Like its forerunners, CCP III will be interdisciplinary, and aims to bring together, under the umbrella of cross-cultural pragmatics, researchers from domains which are particularly sensitive to cross-cultural issues, to promote the cross-fertilization of practises, ideas and theoretical approaches, and explore key concerns associated with communication across language and culture boundaries, in practice and theory.

­

PRACTICAL DETAILS

Abstract deadline: 15 November 2012

Language: English, French, Spanish

Proposal: 400-word anonymous abstract (800 words for panels) to be submitted through the Linguist List at http://linguistlist.org/confcustom/ccpIII2013 Title.s should give an indication of the main question/s addressed, of the data and methodology used and of the language/s of application.

Organisers: Marie-Noëlle Guillot with Roger Baines, Jo Drugan, Luna Filipovìc, Clive Matthews, Andreas Musolff, Carlos de Pablos-Ortega, Alberto Hijazo-Gascon, Giulio Pagani, Gabrina Pounds, Nana Sato-Rossberg, Alain Wolf

m.guillot@uea.ac.uk, r.w.baines@uea.ac.uk, j.drugan@uea.ac.uk; l.filipovic@uea.ac.uk, clive.matthews@uea,ac,uk, a.musolff@uea.ac.uk, c.de-pablos@uea.ac.uk, A.Hijazo-Gascon@uea.ac.uk, g.pounds@uea.ac.uk,g.pagani@uea.ac.uk, N.Sato-Rossberg@uea.ac.uk, a.wolf@uea.ac.uk

Related entries

Site-wide search